top of page

"Crown of Midnight" Book Review ( Throne of Glass #2 )

The following is a spoiler filled review. It may sound cheesy and it may not be my best review of the book, but it's only because this was written as soon as I finished reading the book. Might edit this later, but in the meantime, here it is. Enjoy :)

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

This book was a step up from the first one indeed! The first half of the book was exciting, romantic, thrilling and funny. The second half was intense, gut-wrenching, tearful and scary!

I love how here we get to see Chaol slowly but surely come to terms with his affection for Celaena ( WHICH IS WHAT I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR! ) I seriously adored jealous Chaol and jealous Dorian ( even though I'm team Chaol all the way ) Loved the character development of Chaol, Celaena, Footfleet and Nehemia! I don't know why but I really can't seem to see Dorian as a man. I mean I love him because he's kind hearted and loyal and a booknerd. But I miss the witty, funny and confident side of him. I really don't want to give up on him so I'm gonna say, I hope there will be a great realistic character development in the next book. I loved Mort! And I love how the author introduced magical elements and magical beings in bits. I feel like the whole book is perfectly balanced between magic and reality and between Celaena's tasks (exploration of whatever Elena is asking) and her love adventures. That scene when that singer came and her eyes brimmed with tears and Chaol held her hand?! Then that scene right after when the king ever so arrogant and domineering, chopped her head off :( I loved Chaol's birthday dinner and how touched he was because he's never received something so personal and intimate and heart felt since he was just a kid. And that of course led to their blooming romance. The hurt and rage I felt when I read about Nehemia's death is unsurmountable. I really was pissed off and upset that she had to die and to die in that way. Oh what Celaena must have felt, getting to her too late. And then she lashed out at the one person she thought she could trust fully. The one person she called home and was willing to give her fortunes to in her will because she loved him. She still loves him but what's love without trust :( ?? I WAS JUMPING UP AMD DOWN AND SCREAMING when I found out she was Fae!! That scene was epic beyond compare! And all the fight scenes. I just love her bad-assery side. I think that will forever be etched in to my mind. Her moves, her comebacks. Her weapons and ahh! I have to say her being the heir to Terrasin was not that big a twist for me. I feel like I saw that coming ages ago. But I'm still excited to see her take the throne and kick The king of Adarlan's butt and out of that stupid glass castle of his! Loved the build up of the clues and the Wyrd keys and the portal and the riddles and I loved how we slowly discover things with her. My rating for this book is ........ 5/5 stars ;) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page