top of page

"Heir of Fire" Book Review ( Throne of Glass #3 )

Heir of fire is the third book in the Throne of Glass series. The previous books includes the prequel, The Assassins Blade, the first book, Throne of Glass, the second book, Crown of Midnight.

NONE-SPOILERY REVIEW

I will say that in this book, compared to the last three, you notice that the wheels are turning and the mood has shifted and become sombre and more serious.

the book was a journey from start to finish and it was a long journey where truths and memories were revealed. truths about certain characters, truths about the past ad presen and and pieces started to come together and the end you it was spectacular and so much worth the read.

new characters are introduced in this book and i cannot imagine this bookwithout them now.

SPOILERY REVIEW

What I missed about the last two books, is the witty banter and the flirting, and just the overall comfort of being in a castle surrounded with people you've befriended and knowing that your biggest secret is not out in the open.

Here, Celaena is on her own in a new city, having left her five-second-relationship with Chaol. Just when they finally finally get together, Chaol goes ahead and pulls a stupid stunt like this. Why Chaol?

And, as we learned, Celaena is in fact Aelin Galathynius ( I hope I spelled that right! ). To be honest it wasnt that much of a surprise to me, but i was still thrilled to hear who really was.

I was so worried going into this that we wont see much of Chaol and Dorian and the evil evil king back in Rithfold, but I was pleasantly surprised to find out that we still read from Chaol's POV as well as Dorian's and Aedion's WHOM I ABSOLUTELY LOVE! And Manon! We'll talk about Manon in a second.

Let's start from the beginning. Celena meets Rowan, the Fae Prince who has sworn his allegience to Maeve, Celaena's Fae aunt. I wasnt expecting maeve to harbor such hatred towards celaena until she explained that celaena was half-fae hidden by her paretns. still, that maeve really irked me and had no right to treat her niece the way she did. it wasnt celalenas fault.

she tasks rowan to train celaena to use her fae magical abilities in order to give her what she needs. information about the wyrd keys. the thing is, i was worried then that it wouldnt happen because fae are known to be deceitful. thy cant actually lie, but they can play with words, deceive others. but celaena agreed and the trainign with rowan began.

ROWAN.

Rowan and Celaena, I shipped so hard, from the very start before Rowan even met Celaena. I loved the process in which he wanted her to embrace her inner Fae. And it was a long process! I mean there was a science to it and you as a reader had to go through it with Celaena, it wasn't easy but it felt real and tangible. And man, did I feel so bad for Celaena. She felt like she had an obligation to fill Nehemia's promise. She felt obligated to free her people as queen. She felt obligated to come back for Dorian. She wasn't sure if Chaol was with her or against her after he found out the truth about her. She was burdered with the secret that her aunt died for her in order to save her. So many things and so many strains were weighing her down. And top that off, Rowan wasnt being so easy -.-

I loved how when Celaena asked Rowan to shift, the way Sarah decsribed it was so simple and easy to imagine.

A flash of light and a ripple of color and then wings.

The people we met in that Fae camp, felt like they were an essential and much needed part of Celaena's new life. Each character felt three dimentional and I appreciated them alot. Emrys, Luca, and Emry's mate whose name I forgot. Sorry buddy!

I appreciated how the friendship was slowly blossoming between these two (Rowan and Celaena). They each came from two broken places withered and not quite whole until they made each other whole. They mended each other. It was SO SAD to hear about Rowan's past 😢 about how he lost the love of his life, his mate, and how for centuries he's kept himself isolated and emotionally numb and closed off. How he never wanted to feel pain like that ever again. That confession led him to the realisation that maybe Aelin was there to help him as much as he's there to help her. I absolutely loved that scene. It was just so heartfelt and gut-wrenching.

"I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don't care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend." Their hands clasped between them, he whispered into her ear, "I claim you, too, Aelin Galathynius.”

I was waiting for them to be a couple though for so long that I eventually gave up at the end. I like how they are now at this stage, best-friends who would die for each other.

CHAOL.

I was disappointed with Chaol to be honest. I was disappointed with the fact that he still hasnt chosen a side until the very end. You've seen what the king has done, dude. You know how evil his heart is. The way Chaol reasoned it was, that he didnt know how two powerful people like Aedion and Aelin would rule the country. Still was that a coward's way of thinking?

MANON.

At first I was annoyed from her chapters, I'd snarl or yawn, hurrying to finish it so I can get back to Aelin or Chaol or Dorian. But I loved her. Such a strong character who is just as fierce as Aelin. Loved how she slowly started to feel something for someone like Abraxos. It was foreign and odd for her to feel that semblance of selfishness and loyalty and love and I actually feel like she and Aelin are gonna get along so well. I seriously can't wait for their meet! Can you imagine them as kick-ass friends?!

DORIAN AND SORCHA!

I was never really Team Dorian to begin with because he always felt like a baby to me, unlike Chaol ;) But with Sorcha he truly became the man he was meant to be. A king! And I loved him with Sorcha alot; They were truly adorkable.

I always say that I don't cry easily when reading books. Well tears were shed my friends and that was when that stupid conniving king chopped Sorcha's head off. Oh God, when Dorian screamed and reached for her head, it killed me. Killed me. I never wanted to rip someone's heart more than I did at that moment. People like the king of Adarlan DO NOT deserve to live.

In the end, we got an even awesomer heroin where Aelin clawed her way out of Celaena and incinerated that blonde human skin to ashes. I started reading QOS and I am more than loving it. I can't believe I forgot that there are still two more books after this. Can't wait to see where Sarah takes us from here on out.

I give this book a solid 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page