top of page

"Winter" Book Review ( The Lunar Chronicles #5 )

Winter is the fifth instalment in The Lunar Chronicles, so if you haven't yet read Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Fairest, then I suggest you do just that because awesome doesn't begin to describe this series!

NONE-SPOILERY REVIEW:

This book was just all feels. Good ones, bad ones, scary ones, sad ones. It was a roller coaster that had me sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time! I was afraid and holding my breath and hoping and wondering and it was truly spectacular. I love Merrisa Meyer for introducing these characters to us because I honestly can't imagine my life without them. And I LOVE fairytale retellings so much!!!!

This book really dug deep into the concept of waging war and revolution against a corrupt government. It had its daunting moments as well as its devestating moments. Merrisa really submerged herself in the the Lunar world of glamours and greed and control and I think she did a fantastic job of keeping us as readers on edge, because a revolution is never easy.

All the books leading up to Winter were introductory of the main characters Cinder, Kai, Iko, Scarlet, Wolf, Cress, Thorne as well as the characters you will meet in this book, Winter and Jacin, and here in Winter you see how they all come together to fill the roles that they were suppose to fill.

SPOILERY REVIEW:

This book. Like I said. It was all FEELS wasn't it?!

Cinder and Kai. I wasn't expecting them to be a couple already. I thought the book would pick up where they left off not a month later, so I suppose it is reasonable that they're more comfortable together. Still, to me atleast, it felt off or hurried. I would have loved to see the awkwardness and the uncertainty of where they lie after having that first kiss in Cress. Not to say that they weren't cute and not to say that Kai wasn't just the sweetest.

i loved how we saw a different more comfortable side to Kai. He was acting more like the teenager he is, and less of an emperor. I also found it very amusing how he didn't really know what his place was aboard the Rampion. Because if he didn't have a country to rule, what was he to do? Cook? Sure, but he's never cooked a day in his life. Clean? Take care of the ship's maintenance? We had Cinder for that. Be on the look out for other ships? Cress. Pilot the ship? Thorne.

Thorne! and Cress! Thorne and Cress. Captain Cress. <3 Let me just say that these two, they are the best. I was just rooting for the moment when Thorne confesses his love for her. And when he finally did, the wording was so perfect and so him!

And Thorne said...

Thorne said...

"I think I'm in love with you."

Key word being "think." since he's never been serious about anyone else before.

And I only noticed this days after finishing Winter, but he used the exact words Cress did when she first told him she loved him back in Cress! :'(

“Captain,” she murmured. “I think I’m in love with you.”

Captain Cress is the biggest OTP from this series in my opinion. Ugh, it's the little things that made them so perfect for each other and so adorably and uniquely in sync ... Cress' insecurities, Thorne's witty banter and smirks ... and the way he felt protective of her ... the way she tried again and again to convince herself that she wasn't going to succumb to her feelings for him becuase he simply did not love her back ... it was obvious to all the world that they cared for each other in such a great capacity that it went further beyond friendship ...

I loved the part where he got his sight back ( I thought it was going to happen later, it felt so quick but I was happy nonetheless ) He noticed her for the first time as "Cress that he knows" not "Cress from before" because it was such a surreal moment to finally meet the one you've endured what he's endured with and finally be able to put a face to the personality and experiences and voice even if he did see her before. She's different now. He's friends with her now. He's protective of her now. And he's developed feelings for this "stupid, brave girl." And I loved that he liked what he saw! Butterflies were raging in my stomach like crazy!

One corner of Thorne's mouth lifted.

"The short hair." he said, with half a nod.

"It works."

I loved the reunion of each couple. Cinder and Kai, Scarlet and Wolf, Thorne and Cress, Jacin and Winter. All of them, I loved. All of them were so uniquely perfect for each other.

I kept hearing that people thought Winter was annoying because of her craziness, but I never once thought that myself. Sure she was crazy, but every single time she said, did or saw something crazy, I loved it. She was adorable and funny and quirky. (I'm finding that "quirkiness" is a runnning theme in this series). On the contrary, whenever Winter was having her illusions, half the time I wasn't sure what I was seeing, it if was real or not and I loved that. It sort of put me in her shoes. Now I know what she must have been feeling most of the time, which makes this so so sad. And she is so brave for being so dedicated to not being like her step mother Levana. You gotta give it to her and her conviction.

Did you guys notice the little parallels we had with the real fairy tale stories? Of course, you must have. I was jumping up and down whenever those bits came up.

1- When Levana herself disguised as the old lady in the woods and gave Winter the apple candy just like in Snow White?

2- The scene where the wolf soldiers carried Winter in the tube just like in Snow White when the dwarvs had her put in that glass coffin!?

3- In the end, when Kai came to Cinder, bent down on one knee and gave her her boot, saying he only wanted the girl who owns the foot just like cinderella?!

4- How Winter loves the animals at the menagarie just like how Snow White loves her animals from the forest?!

5- When Jacin kissed Winter just how Prince Charming kissed Snow White? AHH! FEELS!

6- I'm sure there are PLENTY more where that came from, But I can't think of more right now.

This book really showed that for them to get their happy endings they had to endure the fight and keep on fighting. It was devastating seeing so many deaths, even if it was truly a war. At the end we came full circle :') We started with Cinder and Kai and ended with Cinder and Kai. Her foot dropped down to the lake along with any semblance of fear and oppression, because she was finally free and in control of her own destiny. Cinder is such an amazing character who knows what she wants. And she knows that she doesn't want to be queen but she cares enough to destroy the monarch system so people of Luna can live the life they were suppose to live. A life where they were treated with jutice and equality. Those out of sector Lunars really broke my heart :( And I will never forget the sacrifice Wolf's mother, Maha took. <3

... And they all lived happily to the end of their days ...

For those of you who haven't read The Lunar Series I hope you pick Cinder up and start reading, because you cannot not love these characters and the world they hail from😍 Here's my list of OTP from best to least:

1. THORNE AND CRESS ( How can you not? 😍 )

2. Winter and Jacin. ( These guys are just ... Jacin ever the protective and bestfriend ... )

3. Cinder and Kai ( Kai is a sweetheart )

4. Scarlet and Wolf ( Wolf is lucky he has her) I CANT WAIT FOR STARS ABOVE, because I NEED MORE CAPTAIN CRESS 😫😫😫 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ My favorite pages: 600 and 800 ;)

Please tell me about your favorite scenes, scenes that made you cry, scenes that really affected and spoke to you. I'd love to read what you guys thought.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page