top of page

"The Assassin's Blade" Book Review ( Prequel to Throne of Glass )

Review** spoiler alert ** This was my first introduction to The Throne Of Glass series and the first introduction to Celaena Sordothien. And what a great first impression that girl gave me.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I loved loved each novella but I can't tell you which one I favour most, because I loved that in each one we saw a different side of Celaena. In the first one we started out with a kickass opinionated confident strong woman who is fearless and beautiful. As the novella progressed we saw that Celaena isn't all she seems to be. She starts to figure out that shes not all about taking orders and following through with them blindly like a marionette puppet. She starts to realise that she has boundaries and ethics. She knows whats right and whats wrong. She sees and feels for these slaves and without questioning it she decided to free them because its the right thing to do. In second novella, we see that Celaena is a person of high standards in food, clothing, mannerisms. Shes wealthy and she's used to being in places that matter, in places that are posh and clean. Later on when she encounters the healer, we see that Celeana is a stickler to women and we figure out that she would always stand by helpless women because she is selfless like that. I love how she teaches her to be a strong woman. I love how she tells her to go to the academy and be what she wants to be. I love that she tells her to go take care of herself, because no one deserves to be treated poorly. In the third novella, Celeana enters the Red Dessert. She goes to the mute assassin and his decibels. Here, Celaena is in familiar territory but not really. She's surrounded by assassins just like her. But this place feels different then where she grew up at the Keep. Some of the people here are accommodating, some stare at her openly but all of them are living as one family. Through out the novella Celeana befriends a girl and they became quite close to each other. Close enough to be called sisters. I loved how Celeana here showed her true colours, I don't mean before in other novellas she was a fake. But here she wasn't the fearsome woman we've come accustomed to. Here shes afraid, and doubting and she's human. When she comes back to the Keep in the next novella, here things started to kill me. In a good way. Her evolving relationship with Sam? Arobyn's betrayal? And Sam's death? I guessed it! I swear I guessed that Sam would die :( I had a feeling and I wish I was wrong! I loved/hated the villain, Farran. My God he was villainous. At the end, Celaena was hopeless and distraught, and I had this sudden urge to pull her from between the pages and give her the biggest hug I could muster. Loved Sarah J Mass as a writer. Still do, I mean!

Her writing was artistic and poetic and engaging as well as captivating!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page